My Journey to Trim Healthy Mama

First off if you don’t know what Trim Healthy Mama is you should really check it out! It’s the first ‘diet’ that I have actually been able to make a lifestyle, and I love it! After my first child I counted calories and worked out like crazy and got down to my pre-pregnancy weight in under 9 months. (I’d say probably more like 6, but I didn’t have a scale for a long time thanks to an overseas move) it was awesome! I was so proud of myself. But I was also breastfeeding at the time and had such a little supply my son was not gaining weight and I could’t figure out. Finally out of frustration and doctor after doctor pushing formula I finally caved and switched him to formula. Fast forward 12 months and I was up about 15 pounds! We were enjoying the beautiful, wonderful Turkish food and of course chocolate baklava…. **drool** All the working out couldn’t have saved me from our diet! I tried counting calories again, but it was not enjoyable at all! I felt like I couldn’t eat any of the Turkish food around me and I was always hungry… And lets face it, counting calories is time consuming! So then I switched us to a “clean eating” diet. I would make most of our food homemade and again not much movement on the scale and Hubs and I like Ice Cream too much! We also tried gluten-free and paleo… you name it I’ve probably tried it. I have been trying to find a diet that works for me for way too long!

On a trip back home to visit family my mom introduced me to Trim Healthy Mama and I was so intrigued! I could eat fat, carbs, and not count calories?! I’m in! So I started small, I started making just one THM drink and one meal a day while eating every 3 hours as suggested. Hubs and I lost 4 pounds the first week! Yes!!! And cheese has entered back into my life!!!! *choir singing* and I soon got down to goal weight… Right before I got pregnant again! Fast forward another year and a half through a miscarriage and another pregnancy I now find myself 15 pounds over my pre-pregnancy weight again. It’s been a wild ride with Trim Healthy Mama, but no matter how many times I quit I always come back because I know it’s what my body wants! Every time I say never mind I will eat whatever I want, a week later I am as sick as a dog and dying for a yummy fatty THM meal!

I don’t have an amazing transformation story, nor do I have amazing before and after pictures, because of life. I am a 21 year old who has had 2 pregnancies and another overseas move since starting this diet. But the thing I love most about it is how happy my body is on it, I feel like I have so much more energy, I don’t drag myself out of bed every morning, and I know when I mess up I can start again in three hours. This is the most forgiving plan I have been on, I feel like I can enjoy life without watching every single bite I take. I make it work for me, if I want baklava I will have baklava but I will eat it with protein and wait 3 hours for my next meal. Life is too short to count calories and not enjoy the different foods from all over the world!

I hope this helps someone and doesn’t just sound like rambles! I just feel very passionate about life, food, and cheese! If you have anymore questions about my journey or Trim Healthy Mama I would love to answer them for you!

 

Leave a Reply

